Please note.  This site is no longer monitored, and is kept as a record of the conference only.

The International Biogeography Society and Tucson Local Organizing Committee held the 8th Biennial Conference of the International Biogeography Society at the University of Arizona and the Tucson Marriott University Park, Tucson, Arizona from January 9-13, 2017.

Schedule Overview:

January 9, 2017:  Workshops,  Fieldtrips & Welcome Reception (casual/drop in)

6 great workshops to choose from – half day and full day options!  (they are filling up – sign up for a workshop soon if you want to ensure you get a space)

2 Awesome field trips – to Tumamoc Hill and the Desert Museum – a few spaces still open!

6:30-8:30 pm:   Casual Welcome Reception at Tucson Marriott University Park (cash bar)

January 10/11/12, 2017:  Symposia, Concurrent Sessions, and Poster Sessions

3 Symposia will be held at the University of Arizona on January 10th and 11th.  There will be a mix of 15 minute talks and 5 minute mini-talks during the concurrent sessions on January 10th and 12th.  Poster sessions will be held in the early evenings on the 10th and 11th, with cash bar and appetizers.

Also, come help congratulate and meet the award winners for 2017!

  • MacArthur & Wilson Awardee – Jessica Blois (plenary talk on Jan 12th)
  • Wallace Awardee – Margaret Davis (presentation on Jan 12th)
  • Dissertation Awardee – Carsten Meyer (presentation on Jan 12th)

January 9 & 13, 2017:  Field Trips

There will be two short field trips on January 9th, with most of the field trips on January 13th.

Looking forward to seeing you there!

The IBS Board

and the

Tucson Local Organizing Committee

Dr. Judith Bronstein (Dept. Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of Arizona)

Dr. Brian Enquist (Dept. Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of Arizona)

Dr. Stephen Jackson (Southwest Climate Science Center)

Dr. Jonathan Overpeck (Institute of the Environment, University of Arizona)

Dr. Benjamin Wilder (Institute of the Environment, University of Arizona)

Logo credit:  Philipp Robeck